Featured Researchers

The University of Michigan Center for RNA Biomedicine regroups over 160 faculty members and their labs across seven Schools and Colleges on the Ann Arbor campus. We’re pleased to feature these outstanding scientists.

* Graduate students
** Postdoc and research fellows
*** Research Specialists

Read what they say:


Carlos Andres Aguilar, Biomedical Engineering


Sara Aton, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

Charles L. Brooks III, Biophysics and Chemistry

Monica Dus, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Monika Franco, Program in Chemical Biology

Aaron Frank, Biophysics and Chemistry

Guoming Gao, Biophysics

Ameya Jalihal*, alumnus, 2021, Chemistry

Ashley Kalinski**, Cell & Developmental Biology

Sarah Keane, Biophysics and Chemistry

Markos Koutmos, Biophysics and Chemistry

Kristin Koutmou, Chemistry

Karen Montoya*, Chemistry

Yaping Liu**, Program in Biophysics

Jayakrishnan Nandakumar, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Meredith Purchal*, Chemical Biology

Kaushik Ragunathan, Biological Chemistry

Milan Samanta, Human Genetics

Mengyi Sun*, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Renke Tan*, Biological Chemistry

Elizabeth Tidwell*, Biophysics

Robb Welty**, Chemistry

Daniel Wilinski**, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Patricia Wittkopp, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology

Petra Vande Zande*, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Jianzhi (George) Zhang, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology


Joshi J. Alumkal, Genitourinary Medical Oncology Section, Internal Medicine

Anthony Antonellis, Human Genetics and Neurology

Sami Barmada, Neurology

Alan Boyle, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics, and Human Genetics

Maria G. Castro, Neurosurgery, and Cell & Developmental Biology

Dawen Cai, Cell & Developmental Biology, and Biophysics

Vivian G. Cheung, Pediatrics and Human Genetics

Marissa Cloutier*, Human Genetics

Analisa DiFeo, Pathology and Ob/Gyn

Alyssa English**, Human Genetics

Eva Feldman, Neurology

Lydia Freddolino, Biological Chemistry

Becky Glineburg**, Neurology

Nico Gomez*, Cellular and Molecular Biology

Zhonggang Hou, Biological Chemistry

Shigeki Iwase, Human Genetics

Sundeep Kalantry, Human Genetics

Jun Hee Lee, Molecular & Integrative Physiology

Ahmed Malik**, Neuroscience Graduate Program and Neurology

Michael McMillan*, Cellular and Molecular Biology

Ryan Mills, Computational Medicine & Bioinformatics and Human Genetics

John Moldovan**, Human Genetics

Stephanie Moon, Human Genetics, RNA Faculty Scholar

Stephen Parker, Computational Medicine & Bioinformatics and Human Genetics

Michelle Paulsen***, Radiation Oncology

Dan Peltier, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology

Sethu Pitchiaya, Urology and Michigan Center for Translational Pathology

Jiaqi Shi, Pathology

Peter Todd, Neurology

Megan Trotter*, Human Genetics

Arushi Varshney**, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics

Chase Weidmann, Biological Chemistry, RNA Faculty Scholar


Amanda Garner, Medicinal Chemistry

Maha Hanafi*, alumna, April 2021, Medicinal Chemistry

Sydney Rosenblum*, Chemical Biology

Rachel Torrez*, Medicinal Chemistry


Andrew Ludlow


Bambarendage Pinithi (Pini) Perera, Environmental Health Sciences

Laura Scott, Biostatistics

Tasha Thong*, Environmental Health Sciences

Xiang Zhou, Biostatistics

Jiaqiang Zhu*, Biostatistics